by Renee Leininger
The Beeches, a 50 acre estate, began development in 1915 by Dr. Potter, vice president of General Cable Corp. in charge of research. The development ran over a period of years with the big house being constructed of Verona stone in 1924.
The Beeches is a complete country estate with a large stone residence, stone cottages, swimming pool, loggia, a fountain concealed in a large stone mask, spring fed brook, ponds, farm buildings and a large acreage of virgin woodland landscaped with evergreens and a wide variety of shrubbery.
The main residence shows a decided English influence, tall chimneys rising from the slate gable roof, oriel windows and enduring stone exterior.
The interior is divided into 13 rooms, four baths and utility rooms. There are four spacious master bedrooms.
In the spacious entrance hall and stair hall, the floors are Italian travertine, with vaulted ceilings. The main stairway, of limestone with wrought-iron baluster is enclosed in a stair turret. The living room is two stories high with oak minstrels' gallery. Tall, Roman arched windows rise toward a high four-sided cypress, oak-beamed ceiling. There is a large, travertine fireplace.
The dining room, with fireplace has a cypress, oak-beamed ceiling which, like the one in the living room, was hand painted by an Italian artist, each panel having an individual design.
These rooms, together with the library, have multiple-width, walnut pegged floors.
In 1950, the estate was sold to the Destito Family who currently operate the estate as a country inn, banquet and conference center.
Orie Destito, Owner